Call to action: Rocklin School District

/, Human Rights, Resources/Call to action: Rocklin School District

Call to action: Rocklin School District

Rocklin Unified School District (RUSD) School Board will be voting on adopting new textbook curriculum that complies with The FAIR Education Act (SB 48, Leno – signed into law on July 14, 2011) on May 1st and we need your help in supporting the adoption of this LGBTQ+ inclusive curriculum.
As with many of our local school districts, Rocklin Unified School District is in the process of updating and adopting their History and Social Studies curriculum, as required every 7-10 years. RUSD’s materials were last updated in 2007. The FAIR Education Act requires that when adopting new textbooks, the materials must be inclusive of the “contributions of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender Americans, persons with disabilities, and members of other cultural groups, to the development of California and the United States.”
There has been significant push back to the adoption of these inclusive materials at previous RUSD school board meetings and in the form of a petition against the implementation of the inclusive curriculum. We are asking for your support in communicating to the Rocklin Unified School District that creating a community in which LGBTQ people are equitably represented and engaged is necessary and adopting these textbooks will contribute to our vision for a region where LGBTQ people thrive.

HOW CAN YOU SUPPORT?

1) Attend the RUSD school board meeting.
You can be present in solidarity or elect to make a public comment in support of the curriculum. Supporters of the curriculum adoption will be wearing yellow.
WHEN: Wednesday, May 1st at 6:30 PM
WHERE: Rocklin Unified School District Office (Board room)
2615 Sierra Meadows Drive, Rocklin, CA 95677
2) Send a letter of support.
E-mail or mail a letter of support for the adoption of the inclusive curriculum in accordance with The FAIR Education Act to RUSD Board Members.
DEADLINE: Wednesday, April 24th.
MAIL: Rocklin Unified School District
2615 Sierra Meadows Drive, Rocklin, CA 95677
EMAIL: You can reach the school board at the following addresses:
Eric Stevens, President: estevens@rocklinusd.org
Camille Maben, Vice President: cmaben@rocklinusd.org
Susan Halldin, Clerk: shallidin@rocklinusd.org
Dereck Counter, Member: dcounter@rocklinusd.org
Rick Miller, Member: rmiller@rocklinusd.org
Rodger Stock, Superintendent: rstock@rocklinusd.org
Kathleen Pon, Deputy Superintendent, Educational Services: kpon@rocklinusd.org
If you have questions or suggestions for our advocacy team, please email Rachel.Henry@Saccenter.org 
2019-04-18T18:05:56-07:00By |Blogs, Human Rights, Resources|
COVID-19 : Restricted Services, Response, and Update on Events at the Center

For more than 40 years the Center has supported the health and wellness of the most marginalized. We understand there is increasing concern amid the Coronavirus outbreak and we want to assure you that the health and safety of our clients, staff, and community are of paramount importance. Read more below: